The Dr. is out

Dre and Snoop Dogg, the boys who cried wolf, cancel yet another Dallas show

Also on January 5, at the Argo in Denton, Bedhead will make one of its rare local appearances. The band--which is now complete again since guitarist Tench Coxe has returned from Russia--is currently mixing its second full-length album, the 11-song Beheaded, which is due on King Coffee's Trance Syndicate label May 20. But there has been a slight hitch: Several already-mixed songs were stolen from songwriter-guitarist Bubba Kadane's car a couple of weeks ago in Austin, forcing Kadane to work overtime on the technical end. The breathtaking three-song The Dark Ages EP--which includes the title track, the instrumental "Inhume," and "Any Life"--is finished and is scheduled for release February 20...

Trance Syndicate is also releasing a single from another local band, the American Analog Set. Titled "Diana Slowburner, Part II/High Fidelity vs. Guy Fidelity," the single is due March 26 on Emperor Jones, the Trance Syndicate imprint run by Craig Stewart, who says a full-length album from American Analog Set will likely follow in June...

Last Beat Records has a busy first-quarter release schedule: In the next few weeks, the Deep Ellum-based label plans to release full-length albums from the longtime punk band Riot Squad (The Undying Breed, reviewed this issue), Stink!#bug (Dynamic Domination, end of January), and rubberbullet (end of February). The label has also struck a deal with Mercury Records to co-release a single from Tablet, featuring two songs from the band's upcoming major-label debut Pinned (due in March): "Methadone" and a newly recorded version of "Stop Freaking Out."

Street Beat welcomes E-mail tips and comments at

« Previous Page
My Voice Nation Help
Sort: Newest | Oldest
Dallas Concert Tickets

Concert Calendar

  • April
  • Sun
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat