The Finn Brothers

Everyone Is Here (Nettwerk America)

The unjustly neglected titan of Accessible Pop has returned for a second round of family creation with his notoriously volatile brother. New Zealandís beloved Neil and Tim Finn first tried being a duo on 1995ís Finn, producing two singles, with the rest of the album quickly forgotten by all but die-hard fans. The same may happen to Everyone Is Here. Neilís astute songwriting has naturally progressed into a more conservative zone, and unfortunately, the first single off the record is the rather adult-contemporary ďWonít Give In.Ē Musically fulfilling, but not exactly the stuff to attract a new audience. ďAll Godís ChildrenĒ is a refreshing, intelligent and upbeat tune that could follow Modest Mouse on a playlist, but the album as a whole, like Finn, is hit-or-miss, and thatís largely the result of Timís lack of vocal control (ďLuckiest Man AliveĒ) and sometimes downright pathetic delivery (ďAll the ColoursĒ). With Neil having penned solid tracks for Split Enz, Crowded House and their current collaborations, itís clear who the musical darling is. Had this been his solo album, it would probably be less about sibling issues and vocally more pleasant. It just seems like big brother horned in on what couldíve been a strong addition to Neilís discography. As it is, itís destined to fade into a ďGentle Hum.Ē
My Voice Nation Help
Dallas Concert Tickets

Concert Calendar

  • April
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri
  • Sat
  • Sun