Buckets of Fun

In T3's Popcorn, salty satire; D-FW critics pepper actors with awards

This year's best in theater (listed alphabetically):

Outstanding directors: Jaime Castañeda, Sonnets for an Old Century (FireStarter Productions) and This Is How It Goes (Amphibian Stage Productions); Cheryl Denson, Social Security (Contemporary Theatre of Dallas) and Hair (Uptown Players); Marianne Galloway, Lawrence & Holloman (Second Thought Theatre); Aaron Ginsburg, Mr. Marmalade (Kitchen Dog Theater); René Moreno, The Gnadiges Fraulein (WingSpan Theatre Co.) and Democracy (Theatre Three); Tina Parker, End Times (KDT); Jerry Russell, Stones in His Pockets (Stage West).

Outstanding actresses: Pam Covington, The Miracle Worker (Dallas Children's Theater); Gail Cronauer, Master Class (Lyric Stage); Jenny Ledel, The Glory of Living (Second Thought) and Romeo & Juliet (Shakespeare Dallas); Sue Loncar, LuAnn Hampton Laverty Oberlander (CTD); Liz Mikel, Caroline, or Change (T3); Tina Parker, Mr. Marmalade (KDT); Cara Statham-Serber, The Great American Trailer Park Musical (WaterTower Theatre) and Valley of the Dolls (Uptown); Sally Vahle, End Times (KDT).

Theatre Three delivers in the scurrilous comedy Popcorn.
Andy Hanson
Theatre Three delivers in the scurrilous comedy Popcorn.


Popcorn continues through October 7 at Theatre Three, 214-871-3300.

Outstanding actors: B.J. Cleveland, Valhalla (Uptown); Nye Cooper, Dim All the Lights (Theatre Quorum), Social Security and LuAnn Hampton Laverty Oberlander (CTD); James Crawford, Shadowlands (CTD) and Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? (WaterTower); John S. Davies, Democracy (T3); Cameron McElyea, Die, Mommie, Die! (Uptown) and The Immigrant (Stage West); Cedric Neal, tick, tick... BOOM! (Uptown) and A Brief History of White Music (WaterTower); Dean Nolen, The Winner (Lyric); Jeff Swearingen, The Boxer (Bootstraps Comedy Theater) and The Gnadiges Fraulein (WingSpan); Steven Walters, Romeo & Juliet (Shakespeare Dallas).

Ensemble acting: Casts of Every Trick in the Book (Classical Acting Company); From Door to Door (Circle Theatre); The Odd Couple and Vieux Carré (T3).

Creative Contribution: Christopher Barreca, scenic design, Cat on a Hot Tin Roof (Dallas Theater Center); Coy Covington's hair, make-up and costume designs (with Suzi Shankle) and Chris Robinson's multimedia design, Valley of the Dolls (Uptown); Clare Floyd DeVries' set design, Emily Young's sound design, Laura McMeley's lighting design and Christina Vela's costume design for End Times (KDT); Terry Dobson, musical direction, The Big Bang (T3); B. Wolf, original musical score, The Boxer (Bootstraps); Aaron Patrick Turner, costume design, Every Trick in the Book (CAC); James McQuillen, musical direction, The Winner (Lyric); Randel Wright, scenic designs, The Gnadiges Fraulein (WingSpan) and LuAnn Hampton Laverty Oberlander (CTD).

Touring productions: Fences, Dallas Theater Center; Sweet Charity, Dallas Summer Musicals.

Outstanding new plays: The Boxer by Matt Lyle (Bootstraps); End Times by Allison Moore (KDT); Heaven Forbid(s)! by Marco Rodriguez (Martice Enterprises).

Special citation: To Lyric Stage and its founding producer, Steven Jones, in recognition of their current 15th season, and for staging world-premiere musicals and lavish revivals of seldom-performed American classics.

« Previous Page
My Voice Nation Help