What They Have Made Is Real

The 1980 movie Xanadu is legendary if only for being ridiculously bad. That qualifies it for inclusion in the pantheon of '80s movies that have been turned into Broadway musicals. Snuggling up cozily right next to Footloose, this refugee from the VHS days has found new life on the all-singing, all-dancing stages of the American musical theater. It may seem questionable to spend the time and money necessary to resurrect such a campy relic from the dustbin of pop culture but, hey, if it worked for Abba, why can't it work for ELO? Plus, Xanadu's improbable mix of Greek mythology and disco sensibilities is really tailor-made for a Broadway revamp. The fact that it is all done on roller skates only adds to the wacky and surreal atmosphere. By all accounts, whatever they are doing is working, as the production was an unqualified hit on Broadway and is kicking disco ass as it roller-boogies across the nation on tour. So lace up your skates and zoom over to the Music Hall at Fair Park to experience the "Magic" all over again. Xanadu rolls into the Music Hall at Fair Park, Tuesday through April 18. Visit dallassummermusicals.org for more info.
Tue., April 6, 8 p.m.; Wed., April 7, 8 p.m.; Thu., April 8, 8 p.m.; Fri., April 9, 8 p.m.; Sat., April 10, 2 & 8 p.m.; Sun., April 11, 2 & 8 p.m.; Tue., April 13, 8 p.m.; Wed., April 14, 8 p.m.; Thu., April 15, 2 & 8 p.m.; Fri., April 16, 8 p.m.; Sat., April 17, 2 & 8 p.m.; Sun., April 18, 2 p.m., 2010

 
My Voice Nation Help
 
Loading...