Puppets Gone Wild

You have to be a special kind of person to enjoy musicals, and by special I mean weird. I'm not knocking musicals, but there's a certain amount of suspension of disbelief necessary to accept the workings of your standard musical, and Avenue Q is a perfect example. Only in the world of musical make-believe is it copacetic for people and puppets, slutty or otherwise, to interact, binge-drink, out their closeted roommates, praise internet porn and toss pennies off of the Empire State Building, putting frenemies into comas. Not only is this par for the course for Avenue Q, it's actually noteworthy, as its Broadway production won three Tonys, including Best Musical, and the show has spawned several international productions. Part Sesame Street and part potty-mouthed after-school special, Avenue Q is perfect for the cynics who grew up on standard television fare with such tunes as "What Do You Do with a B.A. in English?," "Everyone's a Little Bit Racist," and "You Can Be as Loud as the Hell You Want (When You're Makin' Love)." Avenue Q opens 8 p.m. Tuesday and runs through June 6 at the AT&T Performing Arts Center, 2403 Flora St. Tickets are $25 to $150. Call 214-880-0202 or visit attpac.org.
Tue., May 25, 8 p.m.; Wed., May 26, 8 p.m.; Thu., May 27, 8 p.m.; Fri., May 28, 8 p.m.; Sat., May 29, 2 & 8 p.m.; Sun., May 30, 2 & 7:30 p.m.; Tue., June 1, 8 p.m.; Wed., June 2, 2 & 8 p.m.; Thu., June 3, 8 p.m.; Fri., June 4, 8 p.m.; Sat., June 5, 2 & 8 p.m.; Sun., June 6, 2 p.m., 2010

 
My Voice Nation Help
0 comments
Sort: Newest | Oldest
 
Loading...