Given this distinct direction, much of the record blends together. It's hard for the listener to recognize one song from the next. But "Killed The Lord, Left For The New World" stands out nicely, thanks to a hopeful melody played over a marching cadence that sounds a lot like a typewriter. It comes off as a light in the middle of the tunnel, because soon after the song ends, Tunnel Blanket returns to its soul-crushing ways on "Black Dunes." Another of the album's more interesting tracks is "Osario," an ambient electronic song that sounds like a mellow codeine trip.

It's clear that on Tunnel Blanket, This Will Destroy You have definitely shown signs of evolution. Mostly, those come in the form of descent—the disc sounds like a musical study in darkness, taking the listener deep into the bowels of some lost cavern. It's their most cinematic record to date, with each song taking on a mood, scene or picture of its own.

Obviously, it's not for everybody. But even the band knows that.

These guys may or may not destroy you, we guess.
Malcolm Elijah
These guys may or may not destroy you, we guess.


Tunnel Blanket comes out on May 10 on Suicide Squeeze Records.

"Our music requires patience sometimes," Bhore confesses. "So, if people don't have it, they're not going to love it."

Still, the band is quite happy with the finished disc. The two Dallas-based members of This Will Destroy You, at least, express a clear sense of accomplishment when they talk about Tunnel Blanket. If nothing else, they say, they're further along than they thought they would be when they joined the band.

"I didn't have a whole lot of expectations," Jones says. "I was just excited to be able to travel and finally go overseas and play cool music. It just got better for some reason."

« Previous Page
My Voice Nation Help
Dallas Concert Tickets

Concert Calendar

  • April
  • Sat
  • Sun
  • Mon
  • Tue
  • Wed
  • Thu
  • Fri