Lenny Kravitz, Gigantour With Megadeth and Motorhead and This Week's Show Announcements

Lenny Kravitz
Lenny Kravitz

The last time we heard from Lenny Kravitz, he was creating his own home video of an impromptu performance with a youth band from First Baptist Church of Lewisville on the streets of New Orleans. The people loved it, which is more than can be said of his 2011 funk album, Black and White America.

Kravitz is probably hoping to offset the lack of album sales with ticket sales. He just announced a headlining tour -- his first in years -- which will pass through Dallas at the Verizon Theatre in Grand Prairie on Wednesday, February 22.

Tickets for the event go on sale this Friday at 10 a.m. through, and will range in cost from $39.75 to $59.75.

In other big tour announcements, Megadeth and Motorhead have named their forthcoming co-romp Gigantour, which will also feature Volbeat and Lacuna Coil and pass through the Palladium Ballroom on Thursday, March 1. No word yet on ticket prices, but Gigantour sounds expensive.

Update Thursday, January 5: Gigantour was simply too big. From the concert promoter at AEG: The show has been canceled.

Hit the jump for more of this week's show announcements.

Abbey Inn Pub & Restaurant
January 11, 25 & February 8 & 22 - Earl Bates

Absinthe Lounge
Monday, January 9 - Mike Freiley
Tuesday, January 10 - John Lewis
Wednesday, January 11 - DJ Mic Most
Thursday, January 12 - John Bailey
Friday, January 13 - DJ R.E.
Saturday, January 14 - Lord Pyro
Sunday, January 15 - Quentin Moore

Andy's Bar
Saturday, January 7 - Rockett Queen
Sunday, January 8 - Les Doux
Friday, January 13 - Daylight Industries
Saturday, January 28 - Bloodwitch, Blurry Vision

City Tavern
Friday, January 20 - Frank Smith

Saturday, February 25 - Katie Herzig
Thursday, March 8 - Jenny Young Owens

Granada Theater
Saturday, April 21 - The Ting Tings

House Of Blues
Thursday, January 19 - Tedeschi Trucks Band
Friday, January 27 - Jesse Rya, Cali Sonte, Groove Village
Tuesday, February 14 - Estelle
Friday, April 13 - Tyrone Wells

Kirby's Southlake
Thursday, January 5 - Josh Lewin Duo
Friday, January 6 - Texas Gypsy Trio
Saturday, January 7 - Don Bell Duo
Friday, January 13 - David and Javier Trio
Saturday, January 14 - Analisa Trio
Friday, January 20 - Wanda King Band
Saturday, January 21 - Gale Cruz Trio
January 27, 28 - Blake & Fallon
Friday, February 3 - Tyla Taylor
Saturday, February 4 - Mark Wilson Trio

Palladium Ballroom
Thursday, March 1 - Gigantour w/ Megadeth, Motorhead, Volbeat, Lacuna Coil

Poor David's Pub
Friday, January 13 - Taylor Hodak Band
Saturday, January 14 - Jayson Bales & The Charmers
Wednesday, January 25 - Karen Waldrup, Ashlee K. Thomas
Thursday, January 26 - Melody Guy
Saturday, March 4 - Keith Harkin

QuickTrip Park
Saturday, March 17 - South By So What?! Music Festival

Verizon Theatre
Wednesday, February 22 - Lenny Kravitz

Sponsor Content


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >