New Kids on the Block Coming to Dallas with TLC and Nelly

This one's for the old folks: NKOTB are coming to American Airlines Center in May
This one's for the old folks: NKOTB are coming to American Airlines Center in May
Rachel Parker

Okay, this one's just kind of funny. Don't get us wrong, we loved the '90s. But in a strange way, we love '90s reunion tours even more than we loved the real thing back in the day. Why's that? Because with reunion tours you get something hilarious like a New Kids on the Block tour called "The Main Event" with TLC and Nelly playing as the openers, and a sweet, sweet tagline like, "Hit. After Hit. After Hit." Because shit, if you're the NKOTB and it's time for another cash grab, why take yourself seriously?

Best of all: "The Main Event" tour comes to Dallas in all its glory for a stop at American Airlines Center on Thursday, May 14, 2015.

See also: New Kids on The Block, Backstreet Boys and Jordin Sparks at the American Airlines Center Lana Del Rey and Courtney Love Coming to Dallas in May 2015

If we're being honest though, these guys have managed to do their reunion tours (their first one was all the way back in 2008, which is suddenly halfway back to the '90s) pretty well. They've toured with Backstreet Boys, 98 Degrees and Boyz II Men, each constituting big-dollar draws and bringing their own brand of sweet-voiced nostalgia to the table. TLC and Nelly goes even further in the R&B direction, and we can't say we aren't intrigued by the proposition -- even if we're forever saddened by the absence of Left Eye.

Upcoming Events

But there are other novelties here, as well. For starters, they'll be performing "360 degrees in the round," which is really just a fancy way of saying they'll be on a circular stage surrounded by the crowd. There will also be some (presumably very expensive) VIP packages that includes access to the band's personal memorabilia collections.

Tickets go on sale to "Block Nation" members on January 22, Amex pre-sale the following day and to the general public on January 30 at

The full tour schedule:

Fri May 1 Las Vegas, NV Mandalay Bay Sat May 2 Anaheim, CA Honda Center Sun May 3 San Jose, CA SAP Center Tue May 5 Vancouver, BC Rogers Arena Wed May 6 Tacoma, WA Tacoma Dome Sat May 9 Los Angeles, CA The Forum Mon May 11 San Diego, CA Viejas Arena Tue May 12 Phoenix, AZ Gila River Arena Thu May 14 Dallas, TX American Airlines Center Fri May 15 New Orleans, LA Smoothie King Center Sat May 16 Houston, TX Toyota Center Mon May 18 Oklahoma City, OK Chesapeake Energy Arena Tue May 19 Kansas City, MO Sprint Center Wed May 20 St. Paul, MN Xcel Energy Center Fri May 22 St. Louis, MO Scottrade Center Sat May 23 Rosemont, IL Allstate Arena Tue May 26 Cincinnati, OH U.S. Bank Arena Wed May 27 Nashville, TN Bridgestone Arena Fri May 29 Detroit, MI The Palace of Auburn Hills Sat May 30 Grand Rapids, MI Van Andel Arena Sun May 31 Indianapolis, IN Bankers Life Fieldhouse Tue Jun 2 Charlotte, NC Time Warner Cable Arena Thu Jun 4 Fort Lauderdale, FL BB&T Center Fri Jun 5 Orlando, FL Amway Center Sat Jun 6 Atlanta, GA Phillips Arena Sun Jun 7 Louisville, KY KFC Yum Center Sun Jun 9 Norfolk, VA Norfolk Scope Arena Wed Jun 10 Washington, DC Verizon Center Fri Jun 12 Uncasville, CT Mohegan Sun Arena Sun Jun 13 Bethlehem, PA Sands Bethlehem Events Center Sun Jun 14 Pittsburgh, PA Consol Energy Center Tue Jun 16 Columbus, OH Nationwide Arena Wed Jun 17 Cleveland, OH Quicken Loans Fri Jun 19 Philadelphia, PA Wells Fargo Center Sat Jun 20 Uniondale, NY Nassau Coliseum Sun Jun 21 New York, NY Madison Square Garden Mon Jun 22 New York, NY Madison Square Garden Wed Jun 24 Boston, MA TD Garden Sat Jun 27 Hershey, PA Mixtape Festival (more details TBA) Sun Jun 28 Toronto, ON Air Canada Center Tue Jun 30 Montreal, QC Bell Centre Thu Jul 2 Buffalo, NY First Niagara Center


50 Signs You've Been Partying Too Long in Denton Florida Georgia Line Danced on the Grave of Country at Gexa on Saturday What Your Favorite North Texas Band Says About You Does Dallas Want Its Own Austin City Limits? The Best Places in Dallas to Go When You're Stoned

Use Current Location

Related Location

American Airlines Center

Upcoming Events

Sponsor Content


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >