4

Fly Boys

^
Keep Dallas Observer Free
I Support
  • Local
  • Community
  • Journalism
  • logo

Support the independent voice of Dallas and help keep the future of Dallas Observer free.

No question, Dallas Theater Center artistic director Kevin Moriarty is obsessed with flying. Superhero style. Like faster than a speeding bullet all the way to Neverland. Since he’s already done musicals about Superman and Peter Pan, he’s looking for fresh material. So he’s put wings on The Fortress of Solitude, a new musical based on the 2003 novel by Jonathan Lethem about superhero-obsessed 1970s Brooklyn teenagers Dylan and Mingus. The boys, one black, one white, find a magic ring that just might endow them with special powers. Moriarty calls the show “an emotionally moving musical filled with breathtaking songs and beautifully crafted characters.” Cast includes local stars Traci Lee, Jeremy Dumont, Akron Watson and Alex Organ. Daniel Aukin directs. Michael Friedman composed music and lyrics for the book by Itamar Moses. Curtain up at 8 p.m. Friday, with shows through April 6 at the Wyly Theatre, 2400 Flora St. Call 214-880-0202 for tickets. Friday’s performance is pay what you can. Regular tickets are $15 to $100
Fri., March 7, 8 p.m.; Sat., March 8, 8 p.m.; Sun., March 9, 7:30 p.m.; Tue., March 11, 7:30 p.m.; Wed., March 12, 7:30 p.m.; Thu., March 13, 7:30 p.m.; Fri., March 14, 8 p.m.; Sat., March 15, 2 & 8 p.m.; Sun., March 16, 2 p.m.; Tue., March 18, 7:30 p.m.; Wed., March 19, 7:30 p.m.; Thu., March 20, 7:30 p.m.; Fri., March 21, 8 p.m.; Sat., March 22, 2 & 8 p.m.; Sun., March 23, 2 p.m.; Tue., March 25, 7:30 p.m.; Wed., March 26, 7:30 p.m.; Thu., March 27, 7:30 p.m.; Fri., March 28, 8 p.m.; Sat., March 29, 2 & 8 p.m.; Sun., March 30, 2 p.m.; Tuesdays-Thursdays, 7:30 p.m.; Fridays, Saturdays, 8 p.m.; Sun., April 6, 2 p.m. Starts: March 7. Continues through April 5, 2014

Keep the Dallas Observer Free... Since we started the Dallas Observer, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Dallas, and we would like to keep it that way. Offering our readers free access to incisive coverage of local news, food and culture. Producing stories on everything from political scandals to the hottest new bands, with gutsy reporting, stylish writing, and staffers who've won everything from the Society of Professional Journalists' Sigma Delta Chi feature-writing award to the Casey Medal for Meritorious Journalism. But with local journalism's existence under siege and advertising revenue setbacks having a larger impact, it is important now more than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" membership program, allowing us to keep covering Dallas with no paywalls.

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.

 

Join the Observer community and help support independent local journalism in Dallas.

 

Join the Observer community and help support independent local journalism in Dallas.