Is This Real Life?

Have you ever just sat on a park bench, at a bus stop or in a booth at a restaurant and just stared at someone? Just freaking stared--picking apart their every detail and imaging what sort of life they've lead that happened to bring them to the exact same place you are that day. Where are they from? What's on their mind? Is their face proportional? Do they look nervous or comfortable? Is that their wife or their mistress? If the intricacies of the human condition tickle your fancy, you'd be in good company at the Second Thought Theatre's production of Thom Pain (Based on Nothing) by Will Eno. The play makes an unabashed assault on what it means to be a human being: an emotional, fragile, mortal mess. This one-man show makes poignant references to reality that we can all relate to, and might make us all feel a little less crazy for being so damn crazy. The production runs through January 29 and marks the start of the theater's seventh season. Come join a group of like-minded people-watchers and welcome the beginning of another great year of eclectic performances in the Studio Theatre at the Addison Theatre Centre, 15650 Addison Road in Addison. Tickets are $20. For tickets and showtimes, call 214-616-8439 or visit secondthoughttheatre.com.
Thu., Jan. 13, 7 p.m.; Fri., Jan. 14, 8 p.m.; Sat., Jan. 15, 8 p.m.; Mon., Jan. 17, 7:30 p.m.; Thu., Jan. 20, 7:30 p.m.; Fri., Jan. 21, 8 p.m.; Sat., Jan. 22, 8 p.m.; Sun., Jan. 23, 2 p.m.; Thu., Jan. 27, 7:30 p.m.; Fri., Jan. 28, 8 p.m.; Sat., Jan. 29, 8 p.m., 2011
KEEP THE DALLAS OBSERVER FREE... Since we started the Dallas Observer, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Dallas, and we'd like to keep it that way. With local media under siege, it's more important than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" program, allowing us to keep offering readers access to our incisive coverage of local news, food and culture with no paywalls.
N. Holland Pearce