Shake Ya Ass for Your 2012 DMA Award Winners

Keep Dallas Observer Free
I Support
  • Local
  • Community
  • Journalism
  • logo

Support the independent voice of Dallas and help keep the future of Dallas Observer free.

Aw, there are going to be some big heads floating around now that the DMA has officially released its 2012 award winners - ten big ol' heads, to be exact.

In a city like Dallas, that could get dangerous. So, to see just how worried we should be with the sudden influx of ego, we caught up with one of the recipients, emerging photographer Desiree Espada, who - come to think of it - is sounding a bit too humble for someone with such an impressive accolade.

Espada says, "It has been an absolutely tremendous feeling to be recognized by DMA's senior curator of contemporary art Jeffrey Grove, The Dallas Museum of Art staff, fellow artists, critics and patrons of the museum, in addition to my mentors and UNT professors Dornith Doherty and Paho Mann. The Awards to Artists program is such an important accomplishment for any young Texas artist, and I am proud to be a part of that legacy."

Then she giggles a little and adds, "That's a little formal. But, I just want the DMA to know how important this is to me."

We hope they do. Because - all jokes aside - art can be a cruel world for excellent artists without the funds or resources to bring their brilliant ideas into the cultural landscape. Each of the following awards, bestowed in honor of some of Dallas' most faithful arts patrons, extends an opportunity - both financial and emotional - to young regional artists in three age groups, allowing them to commit more fully to their craft and to expand their horizons through due recognition and encouragement.

Espada, for one, joins her close friend and collaborative partner Kasumi Chow, a 2011 Clare Hart DeGolyer Memorial Fund prize recipient, proving the pair's weight as one of the city's most quickly emerging creative dream teams. Go on, girl. Shake ya ass. You deserve it.

But, Espada and Chow aren't the only new names you ought to already know. Check out - and support - all your favorites below.

2012 Clare Hart DeGolyer Memorial Fund Award recipients: Rusty Ayrton Chapman Oscar Mejia Brandon Nichols Jacob Theriot

2012 Arch and Anne Giles Kimbrough Fund Award recipients: Katherine Colin Desiree Espada TJ Hunt Benjamin Terry

2012 Otis and Velma Davis Dozier Travel Grant recipients: Erin Curtis Mike Osborne

Go on now, all you award winners. Shake ya bad asses. You earned it.

Follow the Mixmaster on Twitter and Facebook.

Keep the Dallas Observer Free... Since we started the Dallas Observer, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Dallas, and we would like to keep it that way. Offering our readers free access to incisive coverage of local news, food and culture. Producing stories on everything from political scandals to the hottest new bands, with gutsy reporting, stylish writing, and staffers who've won everything from the Society of Professional Journalists' Sigma Delta Chi feature-writing award to the Casey Medal for Meritorious Journalism. But with local journalism's existence under siege and advertising revenue setbacks having a larger impact, it is important now more than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" membership program, allowing us to keep covering Dallas with no paywalls.

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


Join the Observer community and help support independent local journalism in Dallas.


Join the Observer community and help support independent local journalism in Dallas.