Dallas Observer Music Awards

DOMAXXII: Announcing Your 2010 Dallas Observer Music Awards Winners!

Well, we made it through the madness. Many, many, many thank yous to everyone who attended last night's awards ceremony and/or Saturday's showcase. Both were shockingly well-attended, and both were, really, fun beyond our highest expectations.

Also, real quick: A special shout-out to Observer marketing director Jennifer Robinson for all her hard work on this year's mini-but-also-pretty-damn-legit fest. She worked her tail off putting all of these events together for us.

Now, onto the Big Reveals made at last night's ceremony.

After the jump, check the complete list of winners--and, for the first time maybe ever, the order in which each band placed in all categories.

Y'know, just for kicks.

Once more, though: Congrats to all of our nominees.

Best Group
RTB2 (winner)
Jonathan Tyler & The Northern Lights
Telegraph Canyon
Mount Righteous

Best Solo Act
Sarah Jaffe (winner)
Ryan Thomas Becker
Danny Balis
Doug Burrr
Robert Gomez
Glen Farris

Best Album
Sarah Jaffe -- Suburban Nature (winner)
Neon Indian -- Psychic Chasms
Telegraph Canyon -- The Tide and The Current
The Beaten Sea -- The Beaten Sea
Air Review -- Landmarks
Doug Burr -- O Ye Devastator

Best Song
Sarah Jaffe -- "Clementine" (winner)
Ishi -- "Pastel Lights"
Telegraph Canyon -- "Shake Your Fist"
Spooky Folk -- "Bible Belt"
The Beaten Sea -- "Doctor's Not Gonna Cure Our Ills"
Seryn -- "We Will All Be Changed"

Best New Act
Ishi (winner)
Spooky Folk
The Beaten Sea
Air Review

Best Blues Act
RTB2 (winner)
Jonathan Tyler & The Northern Lights
New Science Projects
Hunter Hendrickson
Tweed EQ
Quaker City Nighthawks

Best Hard Rock Act
THe BAcksliders (winner)
Record Hop
True Widow
The House Harkoneen
The Phuss

Best Country Act
Boys Named Sue (winner)
Eleven Hundred Springs
The O's
The King Bucks
Somebody's Darling
Danny Balis

Best Alt-Country/Roots Act
Whiskey Folk Ramblers (winner)
Telegraph Canyon
The Beaten Sea
Rodney Parker & 50 Peso Reward
The Naptime Shake
The Hope Trust

Best Electronica/Dance Act
Ishi (winner)
Neon Indian
Fizzy Dino Pop
Darktown Strutters

Best Experimental/Avant Garde Act
Mount Righteous (winner)
Shiny Around The Edges
Nervous Curtains
Sleep Whale
Dear Human
Chameleon Chamber Group

Best Punk Act
Spector 45 (winner)
Here Holy Spain
The Uptown Bums
Leg Sweeper
Bad Sports

Best Indie Rock Act
Midlake (winner)
Spooky Folk
Air Review
Smile Smile
Matthew and the Arrogant Sea
Teenage Cool Kids

Best Metal Act
Fair to Midland (winner)
Shaolin Death Squad
Kill The Client

Best Folk Act
Sarah Jaffe (winner)
Fox & The Bird
Doug Burr
Dust Congress
Glen Farris

Best Funk/R&B Act
Fergus & Geronimo (winner)
The Gritz
Emotion Brown
Backside Pick
Carmen Rodgers

Best Rap/Hip-Hop Act
Dem Southernfolkz (winner)
Damaged Good$
Sore Losers
Dustin Cavazos

Best Jazz Act
Snarky Puppy (winner)
J. Paul Slavens
Freddie Jones
Yells at Eels
Ricki Derek
Bernard Wright Trio

Best DJ
Merritt (winner)
Big J

Best Latin/Tejano
Mad Mexicans (winner)
Mariachi Quetzal
Mi Son Mi Son Mi Son

Best Male Vocalist
Jonathan Tyler of Jonathan Tyler & The Northern Lights (winner)
Ryan Thomas Becker
Doug Burr
Tim Smith of Midlake
Robert Gomez
Nick Foreman of Dust Congress

Best Female Vocalist
Sarah Jaffe (winner)
Amber Farris of Somebody's Darling
Ashley Myrick of Lalagray and The Beaten Sea
Jessie Frye
Mara Lee MIller of Bosque Brown
Sabra Laval

Best Instrumentalist
Ryan Thomas Becker (winner)
Sean Kirkpatrick of Nervous Curtains
Chris McQueen of Foe Destroyer
Chris Holt
Robert Gomez
Glen Farris

Best Cover/Tribute Act
Boys Named Sue (winner)
Hard Night's Day
Le Cure
The King Bucks
Petty Theft
Rhymin' N Stealin'

Best Record Label
Kirtland Records (winner)
Idol Records
Spune Records
Gutterth Records
Battle Flag Records
Forest Family Records

Best Producer
Salim Nourallah (winner)
John Congleton
Dave Castell
Justin Collins
Lindsay Graham
Matt Barnhart

Best Venue
Granada Theater (winner)
Dan's Silverleaf
The Double-Wide
Sons of Hermann Hall
Rubber Gloves Rehearsal Studios
Kessler Theatre

Best Record Store
Good Records (winner)
Bill's Records and Tapes
Recycled Books
Forever Young Records
CD Source
CD Universe

Best Booking Agent(s)
Granada Theater (winner)
Kris Youmans of The Loft
Chelsea Callahan of The Double-Wide
Spune Productions
Gutterh Productions
Parade of Flesh

Best Music Advocate
Chelsea Callahan of the Double-Wide (winner)
Chris Flemmons of NX35
Gutterth Productions
John Solis of Method Entertainment
Jeff Liles

Best Radio Show/Podcast
The Local Edge with Mark (winner)
The Paul Slavens Show
KXT Texas Mix
Gutterth Podcast
The Good Show
Track by Track with Paul Slavens

Best Blog
Gorilla Vs. Bear (winner)
We Shot JR
The Dumbing of America
Weekly Tape Deck
Day Bow Bow
Subservient Experiment

KEEP THE DALLAS OBSERVER FREE... Since we started the Dallas Observer, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Dallas, and we'd like to keep it that way. With local media under siege, it's more important than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" program, allowing us to keep offering readers access to our incisive coverage of local news, food and culture with no paywalls.
Pete Freedman
Contact: Pete Freedman

Latest Stories