| News |

Tom Leppert: Predictable and Classy

Dave Neumann: What, him worry about the Trinity River Project? Never.
Keep Dallas Observer Free
I Support
  • Local
  • Community
  • Journalism
  • logo

Support the independent voice of Dallas and help keep the future of Dallas Observer free.

Since we don't like to say, "Told ya so," we'll leave it to a Friend of Unfair Park who's earned the right this morning:

"Can I just say.......told ya so, told ya so, told ya so!!!!!"

Feel better? Because, see, that nyah-nyah comes from the same Friend who, on June 27, sent to Unfair Park this missive following a meeting of the Trinity Trust, which is part of the Trinity Commons Foundation:

"It was all but officially confirmed: Dave Neumann will be the chair of the Trinity River Committee, and he will toe the same line as the Commons and Trust folks."

It only took damned near three months, but Mayor Ron Kirk .... pardon, Mayor Tom Leppert yesterday made it official, naming Neumann chair of the Trinity River Project Committee. Joining him are Dr. Elba Garcia (vice-chair), Dwaine Caraway, Carolyn Davis, Linda Koop, Pauline Medrano, Mitchell Rasansky and Steve Salazar. As for Angela Hunt, well, you've no doubt read the news: She was appointed to a seat on the sidelines, freeing her up to take down the Trinity toll road whilst Mayor Tom parties like it's 1999. Leppert's full letter of appointments, sent yesterday to the council, is after the jump. --Robert Wilonsky

Update: Apparently, the list of appointments that was sent to us was copied by a Friend from the work of Sam Merten at Dallas Blog. Till Sam pointed it out, I was unaware of this, and I want to make sure he receives all due credit.

Dear Council Colleagues:

Attached are the assignments for our Council Committees. We will have seven standing Committees, as well as two Council-sponsored Task Forces which will be chaired by Council members, but also include members from other governmental entities and the private sector. Other task forces may be added as needed. These assignments reflect your input and our discussions over the past few weeks.

Please let me know if you have any questions.

The Committee meetings will resume Tuesday, September 18th.


Tom Leppert

Finance, Audit & Accounting Committee: Mitchell Rasansky (chair), Jerry Allen (vice-chair), Dr. Elba Garcia, Vonciel Hill, Angela Hunt, Ron Natinsky, Dave Neumann

Public Safety Committee: Dr. Elba Garcia (chair), Dwaine Caraway (vice-chair), Jerry Allen, Tennell Atkins, Sheffie Kadane, Ron Natinsky, Dave Neumann, Mitchell Rasansky

Transportation and Environment Committee: Linda Koop (chair), Sheffie Kadane (vice-chair), Jerry Allen, Carolyn Davis, Vonciel Hill, Angela Hunt, Pauline Medrano, Ron Natinsky

Economic Development Committee: Ron Natinsky (chair), Tennell Atkins (vice-chair), Jerry Allen, Dwaine Caraway, Sheffie Kadane, Linda Koop, Mitchell Rasansky, Steve Salazar

Housing Committee: Steve Salazar (chair), Carolyn Davis (vice-chair), Tennell Atkins, Dr. Elba Garcia, Vonciel Hill, Angela Hunt, Linda Koop, Pauline Medrano

Quality of Life and Government Services Committee: Pauline Medrano (chair), Vonciel Hill (vice-chair), Carolyn Davis, Angela Hunt, Sheffie Kadane, Dave Neumann, Steve Salazar

Trinity River Project Committee: Dave Neumann (chair), Dr. Elba Garcia (vice-chair), Dwaine Caraway, Carolyn Davis, Linda Koop, Pauline Medrano, Mitchell Rasansky, Steve Salazar

Mayor’s Task Force on Southern Sector Economic Opportunities: Tennell Atkins (chair), Ron Natinsky (vice-chair), additional members from other governmental entities and the private sector

Marketing Task Force: Dwaine Caraway (chair), additional members from the council and the community

Keep the Dallas Observer Free... Since we started the Dallas Observer, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Dallas, and we would like to keep it that way. Offering our readers free access to incisive coverage of local news, food and culture. Producing stories on everything from political scandals to the hottest new bands, with gutsy reporting, stylish writing, and staffers who've won everything from the Society of Professional Journalists' Sigma Delta Chi feature-writing award to the Casey Medal for Meritorious Journalism. But with local journalism's existence under siege and advertising revenue setbacks having a larger impact, it is important now more than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" membership program, allowing us to keep covering Dallas with no paywalls.

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


Join the Observer community and help support independent local journalism in Dallas.


Join the Observer community and help support independent local journalism in Dallas.