The Food Policy Report Card Was Released. Here's How North Texas Congress Scored.

Keep Dallas Observer Free
I Support
  • Local
  • Community
  • Journalism
  • logo

Support the independent voice of Dallas and help keep the future of Dallas Observer free.

Food Policy Action is a group of "healthy food advocates, animal welfare and anti-hunger champions," who have designed a platform for grading members of congress on their overall food policy record. Today, October 24, the group released their first order of business, a National Food Policy Scorecard based on legislative voting records over the past two years.

The board of directors is comprised of leaders in the food industry and various environmental and hunger advocacy groups, including: Chef Tom Colicchio of Top Chef; Gary Hirshberg, co-founder and chairman of Stoneyfield Farm; Wayne Pacelle, CEO and President of the Humane Society; Rober Schepper, former Executive Director of "Let's Move!".

Points on the scorecard were assessed based on how members of congress voted on 32 different pieces of food-policy and environmental legislation over the past two years. A high number indicates good food policy advocacy, and a low number on the report card means less time on the playground and more in study hall. Ideally, for the FPA anyway.

Examples of legislation include the Gibbs Pesticide Bill designed to weaken EPA pesticide regulations, the Bround WIC Amendment to reduce WIC funding, and the Blumenauer Payment Limit Amendment aimed at limiting payments on crop subsidies.

Fifty members of Congress received a perfect score of 100, including Rep. Lloyd Doggett (D-Tx25). Locally, we had one representative score a B, and everyone else failed.

Below is a list of members of congress from the North Texas area. Click on each link to view their page and specific details on how they voted on different policies.

Rep. Eddie Bernice Johnson(TX-30): 86

Rep. Joe Barton (TX-6): 38

Rep. Kay Granger (TX-12): 36

Rep. Pete A. Sessions (TX-32): 21

Rep. Michael C. Burgess (TX-26): 21

Rep. Sam Johnson (TX-3): 14

Rep. Kenny E. Marchant (TX-24): 14

***** Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison (TX): 24

Sen. John Cornyn (TX): 17

Keep the Dallas Observer Free... Since we started the Dallas Observer, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Dallas, and we would like to keep it that way. Offering our readers free access to incisive coverage of local news, food and culture. Producing stories on everything from political scandals to the hottest new bands, with gutsy reporting, stylish writing, and staffers who've won everything from the Society of Professional Journalists' Sigma Delta Chi feature-writing award to the Casey Medal for Meritorious Journalism. But with local journalism's existence under siege and advertising revenue setbacks having a larger impact, it is important now more than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" membership program, allowing us to keep covering Dallas with no paywalls.

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


Join the Observer community and help support independent local journalism in Dallas.


Join the Observer community and help support independent local journalism in Dallas.