Neon Indian and Astronautalis Both Release Free Downloads of Songs off Upcoming Albums

Well this is cool: Today, Neon Indian and Astronautalis -- two locally affiliated acts (not to mention Homegrown Fest '11 performers) whose impending releases we've long been watching -- have both gone and released songs off their upcoming albums as free download today.

Neon Indian, whose cover art and September 13 release date we shared with you last week, is asking your email address in exchange for a track called "Fallout" isn't an ode to the Expo Park joint, far as we can tell (lame), but it does find frontman Alan Palomo donning a somewhat different cap. The song features Palomo translating some of his brooding on-stage swagger to his recorded vocals, which are a little lower this go around than you might expect.

Astronautalis, meanwhile, doesn't want anything in exchange for his new Periodic Table creator shout-out, "Dmitri Mendeleev," which My Old Kentucky Blog debuted this morning. Recorded in Dallas with John Congleton back in May, the song features some keys work from Nervous Curtains frontman (and former Congleton collaborator in The Paper Chase) Sean Kirkpatrick. Other acts appearing throughout the new Astronautalis disc, called This Is Our Science, include Tegan Quin, P.O.S, Midlake's McKenzie Smith and members of the Riverboat Gamblers.

Download the Astronautalis track, and sign up for a Neon Indian free download, after the jump.

Bonus MP3:

Astronautalis -- "Dmitri Mendeleev"

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


Join the Observer community and help support independent local journalism in Dallas.


Join the Observer community and help support independent local journalism in Dallas.