St. Vincent Releases Strange Mercy Track List and Cover Art, Announces Kessler Theater Gig

Back in early June, we passed along the word that Dallas native Annie Clark, known to most by her stage name of St. Vincent, had set a September 13 release date for her highly anticipated third LP, the locally recorded, John Congleton-produced Strange Mercy.

Today comes more news in regards to the album, which will be released by 4AD and which features Midlake drummer McKenzie Smith and Grammy winner Bobby Sparks joining the former Polyphonic Spree member and backing Sufjan Stevens player in the studio. Namely? The disc's tracklisting, cover art (designed by Clark herself) and a string of promotional tour dates.

Most pertinent to the local readership in that tour schedule: St. Vincent's Sunday, October 23, gig, which will find the performer stopping by Oak Cliff's Kessler Theater for what will no doubt be a packed, intimate performance. No word yet on when tickets will be going on sale for the show. Tickets for the performance go on sale on Monday.

In the meantime, check out the cover art and track listing after the jump.

Cover art:

Strange Mercy Tracklisting:

1. Chloe in the Afternoon

2. Cruel

3. Cheerleader

4. Surgeon

5. Northern Lights

6. Strange Mercy

7. Neutered Fruit

8. Champagne Year

9. Dilettante

10. Hysterical Strength

11. Year of the Tiger

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


Join the Observer community and help support independent local journalism in Dallas.


Join the Observer community and help support independent local journalism in Dallas.