The Best New Music in Dallas, April 2017: Sarah Jaffe, Post Malone, JVN, Daniel Hart and More

Grapevine native Post Malone produced a track for the latest film in the Fast and the Furious franchise.
Grapevine native Post Malone produced a track for the latest film in the Fast and the Furious franchise.
Kyle Gustafson
Keep Dallas Observer Free
I Support
  • Local
  • Community
  • Journalism
  • logo

Support the independent voice of Dallas and help keep the future of Dallas Observer free.

Six Shooter is a recurring feature where we highlight six new releases by North Texas-based musicians

Sarah Jaffe - “Bad Baby”

This month Sarah Jaffe announced her new album Bad Baby will be released July 7, and debuted the title track on NPR. “Bad Baby” continues Jaffe’s electro-pop stylings she’s been crafting since 2012’s The Body Wins.

Post Malone - “Candy Paint”

Post Malone garnered lots of headlines this month following an $8,000 Popeyes order at Coachella for a private party. But for actual fans the biggest news from the former Grapevine resident is this new track for the Fate of the Furious soundtrack, which happens to be the number one movie in the world for the second week in a row.

JVN - “Heavy”

“Heavy” is the latest track from 18-year-old rapper JVN, who’s quickly making a name for himself with his confident, impeccable flow that is a far cry from current trends, and JVN even takes some shots at so-called mumble rappers on the blistering song.

Daniel Hart - Music From S-Town

This is the only spoiler we’ll give away about S-Town, America’s new favorite podcast from the creators of Serial and This American Life: The music from each episode is composed by violinist and former Dallas resident Daniel Hart of Dark Rooms. The tense, moody soundtrack is the perfect companion for the gripping narrative told by the podcast’s host and reporter Brian Reed.

Diego Money - “Blue & Green”

April was a great month for Oak Cliff native Diego Money. The rapper celebrated his 22nd birthday in his new hometown of Los Angeles with his first sold-out headlining show, and the next day he released a

new mixtape


Diego & Friends.

“Blue & Green” is just one of the dozens of songs the rapper released last month and it falls in line with his reputation for downtempo beats coupled with his flowing Southern drawl.

Pyrex Pirates - BROKE.N

For seven tracks, the Pyrex Pirates are in their feels. The Oak Cliff trio create an interesting dynamic as they blend their traditionally abrasive punk-influenced hip-hop stylings with emotive introspective songwriting, as best heard on “Insecurities."

Extra Ammo:

Vandoliers - “Rolling Out”

BNQT - “Mind of a Man”

Bobby Sessions - “First World Problems”

David Morgan - “Dog”

Lil Sega ft. Pat Ron - “Hot Box”

G.U.N. - GUN

Cure For Paranoia - “Rental Recordings”

Go Yayo ft. Rico Recklezz - “HoodFame Renegade”

Keep the Dallas Observer Free... Since we started the Dallas Observer, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Dallas, and we would like to keep it that way. Offering our readers free access to incisive coverage of local news, food and culture. Producing stories on everything from political scandals to the hottest new bands, with gutsy reporting, stylish writing, and staffers who've won everything from the Society of Professional Journalists' Sigma Delta Chi feature-writing award to the Casey Medal for Meritorious Journalism. But with local journalism's existence under siege and advertising revenue setbacks having a larger impact, it is important now more than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" membership program, allowing us to keep covering Dallas with no paywalls.

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


Join the Observer community and help support independent local journalism in Dallas.


Join the Observer community and help support independent local journalism in Dallas.