Justin Mohrle is ready to put Dallas hip-hop on the map, with the help of Dr. Dre.
Justin Mohrle is ready to put Dallas hip-hop on the map, with the help of Dr. Dre.
Ant Blue Jr.

Dallas' Justin Mohrle to Appear on Dr. Dre's Compton: The Soundtrack Album

Dr. Dre releasing a new album is big news for any hip-hop fan, but his new (and supposedly "final" album) Compton: The Soundtrack is especially big news for Dallas. Compton marks the long-awaited release of material Dre recorded with Dallas rapper Justin Mohrle, who it turns out is featured prominently on the new record.

The news comes right as the highly anticipated N.W.A. biopic Straight Outta Compton is set to be released on August 14, with the long-in-the-works Detox apparently now abandoned for good. Compton: The Soundtrack is an appropriately misleading title from an artist who hasn't released a new record in 16 years, as it won't be the soundtrack to the movie but a collection of new songs inspired by the city itself — and, more important, by some of the young talent that Dre has recently surrounded himself with.

Among that young talent is Mohrle, a Garland native who first started making waves locally by rapping under the name Love, JT in hip-hop crew the Brain Gang, which also included Blue, the Misfit and Sam Lao. As D Magazine reported earlier this year, Mohrle got connected with Dre after Dallas-raised legend and former N.W.A. collaborator the D.O.C. came across one of his demos. Soon Mohrle, who's relocated to Los Angeles, was posting cryptic photos on Instagram of himself with Dre and even Gwen Stefani.

Resale Concert Tickets

Powered By
powered by Seats For Everyone SEE MORE

  • Monday, Oct. 21, 2019 / 7:30pm @ Gas Monkey Live 10110 Technology Blvd Dallas TX 75220
    10110 Technology Blvd, Dallas TX 75220

  • Monday, Oct. 21, 2019 / 8:00pm @ Granada Theater - Dallas 3524 Greenville Ave Dallas TX 75206
    3524 Greenville Ave, Dallas TX 75206

  • Monday, Oct. 21, 2019 / 8:00pm @ House Of Blues - Dallas 2200 N. Lamar Street Dallas TX 75202
    2200 N. Lamar Street, Dallas TX 75202

Write-ups on MTV and Complex have touted him as Dre's next protege, which is potentially huge for Dallas given that he follows in the footsteps of rappers like Snoop Dogg and Kendrick Lamar. But until now it hasn't been clear what would come of the tracks Mohrle's been recording with Dre; as Detox's troubled conception demonstrated, there's no guarantee that stepping into the studio with Dre will result in music that sees the light of day.

The track list for Compton, due to be released in short order this Friday, August 7, on Apple Music, puts those fears to rest. Compton features Mohrle, billed as "Justus," on three tracks, including "Talk About It," the first song on the record not titled "Intro." Dallas hip-hop has already had some brushes with stardom this year, thanks to Post Malone's viral hit "White Iverson," but with Compton the rest of the world might finally realize what they've been missing by sleeping on our city.

Here's the full track list for Compton, available for pre-order now on iTunes:

01 Intro
02 Talk About It [ft. King Mez & Justus]
03 Genocide [ft. Kendrick Lamar, Marsha Ambrosius & Candice Pillay]
04 It's All on Me [ft. Justus & BJ the Chicago Kid]
05 All in a Day's Work [ft. Anderson Paak & Marsha Ambrosius]
06 Darkside/Gone [ft. King Mez, Marsha Ambrosius & Kendrick Lamar]
07 Loose Cannons [ft. Xzibit & COLD 187um]
08 Issues [ft. Ice Cube & Anderson Paak]
09 Deep Water [ft. Kendrick Lamar & Justus]
10 One Shot One Kill [ft. Snoop Dogg]
11 Just Another Day [ft. Asia Bryant]
12 For the Love of Money [ft. Jill Scott & Jon Connor]
13 Satisfaction [ft. Snoop Dogg, Marsha Ambrosius & King Mez]
14 Animals [ft. Anderson Paak]
15 Medicine Mane [ft. Eminem, Candice Pillay & Anderson Paak]
16 Talking to My Diary

Dallas' Justin Mohrle to Appear on Dr. Dre's Compton: The Soundtrack Album
Aftermath/Interscope Records

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories


All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >