Keep Dallas Observer Free

Pantera's Cowboys From Hell To Receive Deluxe, 20th Anniversary Edition Re-Issue

Darryl Smyers--as you can quite literally see--spoke with Vinnie Paul Abbott on Sunday night about the new HELLYEAH record and about next weekend's Ride for Dime charity event, which is held in honor of Abbott's brother, "Dimebag" Darrell.

But what Vinnie Paul conveniently left out of that talk, it seems, is this news that just now popped up in our email inbox: Seems the re-issue-obsessed folks at Rhino Records are gearing up to give their special treatment to Arlington's own Pantera, celebrating the iconic metal band's seminal 1990 release and major label debut, Cowboys from Hell, by putting out both a two-disc expanded and a three-disc deluxe version of the album, complete with unreleased songs, demos and live tracks.

Both of those versions will be released on September 14. Then, on November 23, Rhino will release another package, deemed the "ultimate edition," which will also come with replica Pantera memorabilia from 1990.

Read the full release after the jump.

LOS ANGELES - Pantera found its growl and groove on COWBOYS FROM HELL, a landmark album whose bone-powdering intensity, razor-sharp riffing and pummeling rhythmic assault represented a turning point in modern metal when it was released in 1990. More than just Pantera's major label debut, many consider this album to be the official debut of the Pantera lineup with singer Philip Anselmo, guitarist "Dimebag" Darrell Abbott, his brother, drummer Vinnie Paul and bassist Rex Brown.

To celebrate the 20-year anniversary of COWBOYS FROM HELL, Rhino rounds up a three-disc Ultimate Edition, a three-disc Deluxe Edition, and a two-disc Expanded Edition. All three editions include a newly remastered version of the original album along with unreleased and rare live performances from the "Cowboys From Hell" Tour.

The Ultimate and Deluxe Editions will also feature a disc of unreleased demos for nearly every album track, plus, "The Will To Survive," a previously unreleased song recorded during the album's sessions.

"'The Will To Survive' is a great track. With so many killer songs, it was hard to pick and choose the ones that should make our major label debut," says Paul. "After hearing it for the first time in about 20 years, its a pretty stellar performance and I am definitely proud that it will see the light of day for all the die hard Pantera fans around the world! It shows the true musical diversity of the band at that time!"

The Deluxe and Expanded Editions of COWBOYS FROM HELL will be released September 14 at all retail outlets, including www.pantera.com and www.rhino.com. The Deluxe Edition will be available for a suggested list price of $29.98 (physical) and $17.99 (digital) and the Expanded Edition for $19.98 (physical) and $12.99 (digital).

The Ultimate Edition will feature all three discs included in the Deluxe Edition and will be housed in an intricate box including several replica memorabilia pieces from the Cowboys era. The Ultimate Edition will be available on November 23 and final pre-order details, as well as the contents, will be unveiled soon on Pantera's Facebook page.

Along with the remastered version of COWBOYS FROM HELL, all three sets include a disc of live music recorded during the tour for the album. It begins with seven unreleased performances from Pantera's September 15, 1990 appearance at the Foundations Forum metal convention in California, a show recorded for radio broadcast but never released commercially. The remainder of the disc contains the five-song EP Alive And Hostile, a collection of performances recorded in 1991 at the Monsters of Rock festival in Moscow that was previously available only in Australia as part of a 1994 boxed set.

The Ultimate and Deluxe Editions of COWBOYS FROM HELL include a third disc that contains the previously unreleased "The Will To Survive," along with demos for 10 of the album's 12 songs, including early versions of the title track, "Psycho Holiday," "The Art Of Shredding" and "Cemetery Gates."

After being turned down "twenty-eight times by every major label on the face of the earth," ATCO Records A&R rep Mark Ross saw the band when Hurricane Hugo stranded him in Texas. The rest, as they say, is history, including another seven years and over a million miles of touring for COWBOYS to be certified Platinum (one million album sales) by the RIAA.

The album's liner notes include essays by each of the band's surviving members, producer Terry Date, and the aforementioned Ross. Recalling the first time he saw Pantera, Ross writes, "By the end of the first song, my jaw was on the floor. The sonic power of it all--the attitude and the musicianship--blew me away. Basically, you had to be an idiot to not think they're amazing. I mean, how could you see these guys and not think, Holy shit!?"


Track Listing

Disc One - Ultimate, Deluxe, and Expanded Editions

1. "Cowboys From Hell"

2. "Primal Concrete Sledge"

3. "Psycho Holiday"

4. "Heresy"

5. "Cemetery Gates"

6. "Domination"

7. "Shattered"

8. "Clash With Reality"

9. "Medicine Man"

10. "Message In Blood"

11. "The Sleep"

12. "The Art Of Shredding"

Disc Two - Ultimate, Deluxe, and Expanded Editions

1. "Domination" - Live*

2. "Psycho Holiday" - Live*

3. "The Art Of Shredding" - Live*

4. "Cowboys From Hell" - Live*

5. "Cemetery Gates" - Live*

6. "Primal Concrete Sledge" - Live*

7. "Heresy" - Live*

8. "Domination" - Live, Alive And Hostile EP†

9. "Primal Concrete Sledge" - Live, Alive And Hostile EP†

10. "Cowboys From Hell" - Live, Alive And Hostile EP†

11. "Heresy" - Live, Alive And Hostile EP†

12. "Psycho Holiday" - Live, Alive And Hostile EP†

Disc Three - Ultimate and Deluxe Editions Only

1. "The Will To Survive"*

2. "Shattered" - Demo*

3. "Cowboys From Hell" - Demo*

4. "Heresy" - Demo*

5. "Cemetery Gates" - Demo*

6. "Psycho Holiday" - Demo*

7. "Medicine Man" - Demo*

8. "Message In Blood" - Demo*

9. "Domination" - Demo*

10. "The Sleep" - Demo*

11. "The Art Of Shredding" - Demo*

* Previously Unreleased
† Unreleased in the U.S.

I Support
  • Local
  • Community
  • Journalism
  • logo

Support the independent voice of Dallas and help keep the future of Dallas Observer free.

Keep the Dallas Observer Free... Since we started the Dallas Observer, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Dallas, and we would like to keep it that way. Offering our readers free access to incisive coverage of local news, food and culture. Producing stories on everything from political scandals to the hottest new bands, with gutsy reporting, stylish writing, and staffers who've won everything from the Society of Professional Journalists' Sigma Delta Chi feature-writing award to the Casey Medal for Meritorious Journalism. But with local journalism's existence under siege and advertising revenue setbacks having a larger impact, it is important now more than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" membership program, allowing us to keep covering Dallas with no paywalls.

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


Join the Observer community and help support independent local journalism in Dallas.


Join the Observer community and help support independent local journalism in Dallas.