4

Show Announcements: George Clinton's Mothership To Connect With House Of Blues April 22, More

^
Keep Dallas Observer Free
I Support
  • Local
  • Community
  • Journalism
  • logo

Support the independent voice of Dallas and help keep the future of Dallas Observer free.

Don't burn your entire stash on 4/20, because just two days later George Clinton and Parliament Funkadelic will touch down at House of Blues in Dallas.

Bandleader Clinton, as if you needed an introduction, is a true legend of funk. His original group The Parliaments, the subsequent Funkadelic and various combinations of players from those two groups created some of the most influential (and most-sampled by hip-hop producers) funk and soul records in history including Funkadelic, Maggot Brain, Free Your Mind And Your Ass Will Follow and Mothership to name just a few.

Doors open at 8 p.m. for the 9 p.m. show Thursday, April 22. Tickets ($22.50 to $40 plus service charges) go on sale Friday, January 15.

More show announcements are after the jump.

American Airlines Center
Tuesday, February 23 -- Jay-Z, Young Jeezy, Trey Songz (support added to previously announced bill)

Good Records
Thursday, January 28 -- The Slack (8 p.m.), Exene Cervenka (6:30 p.m.), Dex Romweber Duo (6 p.m.)
Saturday, February 13 -- Smile Smile (4 p.m.)
Friday, February 19 -- Ode To Trees, Young Poland, Buttercupz
Tuesday, March 16 -- Titus Andronicus (6 p.m.)

The Granada Theater

Saturday, January 23 -- The Reverend Horton Heat
Thursday, March 4 -- Vallejo
Friday, March 5 -- Bob Schneider
Saturday, March 6 -- Doyle Bramhall, Bugs Henderson
Friday, March 12 -- RX Bandits, The Builders & The Butchers
Wednesday, April 21 -- Beach House, Washed Out

House of Blues
Thursday, March 4 -- Needtobreathe, Stephen Kellogg & The Sixers, Graham Colton Band
Friday, March 5 -- Dark Star Orchestra
Friday, March 19 -- Rockstar Energy Drink Presents The AP Tour Featuring Never Shout Never, Hey Monday, The Cab, Every Avenue and The Summer Set
Saturday, March 20 -- Chrisette Michele, Laura Izabor
Thursday, March 25 -- El Chapo De Sinaloa, Valentina
Wednesday, April 14 -- Australia's Thunder From Down Under
Tuesday, April 20 -- Porcupine Tree
Thursday, April 22 -- George Clinton & Parliament Funkadelic
Friday, April 30 -- Blue October

Jefferson Freedom Cafe, Fort Worth
Saturday, January 16 -- Chuck Pyle

Lizard Lounge
Thursday, January 28 -- Combi-Nation Featuring Joe Letz (Combichrist) & Mark Jackson (VNV Nation)
Saturday, February 6 -- Dirty South
Sunday, February 14 -- The Church Presents My Bloody ... Mardi Gras and Valentine's Day Bash

Nokia Theatre, Grand Prairie
Saturday, April 24 -- Chelsea Handler

Palladium
Thursday, March 4 -- Manchester Orchestra, The Features, Chris Staples, O'Brother

Rubber Gloves Rehearsal Studios, Denton
Monday, February 22 -- Jucifer
Tuesday, February 23 -- Pretty & Nice, Title Tracks
Wednesday, February 24 -- A Storm Of Light, Via Vengeance, Akkolyte
Tuesday, March 16 -- Pierced Arrows, Lullabye Arkestra

Sons of Hermann Hall
Thursday, February 11 -- Noah & The Whale, Port O'Brien

Winstar Rodeo Roadhouse, Fort Worth
Sunday, January 21 -- Grady Skelton Band, Ray Wylie Hubbard, Cliff Temple Duo

Keep the Dallas Observer Free... Since we started the Dallas Observer, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Dallas, and we would like to keep it that way. Offering our readers free access to incisive coverage of local news, food and culture. Producing stories on everything from political scandals to the hottest new bands, with gutsy reporting, stylish writing, and staffers who've won everything from the Society of Professional Journalists' Sigma Delta Chi feature-writing award to the Casey Medal for Meritorious Journalism. But with local journalism's existence under siege and advertising revenue setbacks having a larger impact, it is important now more than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" membership program, allowing us to keep covering Dallas with no paywalls.

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.

 

Join the Observer community and help support independent local journalism in Dallas.

 

Join the Observer community and help support independent local journalism in Dallas.