Syndey Confirm Returns With Plans For New Music, A Label, And Maybe A Festival. But Definitely A New Remix EP For You To Download For Free.

Keep Dallas Observer Free
I Support
  • Local
  • Community
  • Journalism
  • logo

Support the independent voice of Dallas and help keep the future of Dallas Observer free.

Earlier this week, Sydney Confirm's Redsean (aka Sean Humphrey) announced the release of a free-to-download remix EP called Sounds of Old. Only, turns out, the remix EP, which is pretty stellar collection of slightly vampy electro-dance cuts featuring Redsean's track revisions from the past two years (listen to, download and check the full tracklisting for the collection after the jump), is just the start of Sydney Confirm's plans in 2010 and beyond.

Starting tonight with a free-to-attend gig at The Cavern's weekly Detour party, the band will be performing a selection of new, original tracks that it's been writing in anticipation for an as-yet-untitled upcoming 2010 release. That disc, along with this remix one, will be released under Humphrey's own Disqo Disco name--the same name used for his weekly Tuesday night DJ night at Fallout Lounge. The plan, Humphrey says, is to use the label as a means to release the plethora of local electro-dance tracks being created by the burgeoning electro set.

"It will sort of be a way for us to release ours and our friends' music (mainly dance music at first)," Humphrey says, "and further the awareness of what we're trying to make happen in and around town."

Among those happenings: Seasonal dance-party events that Humphrey says he hopes will be seen as "more than just a 'go to the bar and get messed up'" event.

We'll keep you posted on anything we hear on that front; in the meantime, check Sydney Confirm's Sounds of Old after the jump...

Party on, Wayne.

Oh, and the songs:
1. Thieves Like Us - Drugs In My Body (Sydney Confirm Remix)
2. Ocelot - Lo Sforzo (Sydney Confirm Remix)
3. Miss TK & The Revenge - (Sydney Confirm Remix)
4. Au Revoir Simone - I Couldn't Sleep (Sydney Confirm Remix)
5. Passion Pit - Sleepyhead (Sydney Confirm Remix)

Keep the Dallas Observer Free... Since we started the Dallas Observer, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Dallas, and we would like to keep it that way. Offering our readers free access to incisive coverage of local news, food and culture. Producing stories on everything from political scandals to the hottest new bands, with gutsy reporting, stylish writing, and staffers who've won everything from the Society of Professional Journalists' Sigma Delta Chi feature-writing award to the Casey Medal for Meritorious Journalism. But with local journalism's existence under siege and advertising revenue setbacks having a larger impact, it is important now more than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" membership program, allowing us to keep covering Dallas with no paywalls.

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


Join the Observer community and help support independent local journalism in Dallas.


Join the Observer community and help support independent local journalism in Dallas.