Keep in Mind: Lisa Loeb, Will Clarke Are Among Those Speaking at TEDxSMU Saturday

All the ducats for Saturday's TEDxSMU wingding at the Dee and Charles Wyly Theatre are long gone, but no matter: As The Hilltop reminds, you can espy the doings from three remote locations: the Texas Theatre, Tech Wildcatters and the AT&T Foundry in Plano. And, of course, it'll livestream on the TEDxSMU website throughout the day.

The program for this year's event, the theme of which is "Disruption," can be found here; keep in mind, though, it has session times, but not a list of who's participating in which session (wait for it ... wait for it ...). And the list of this year's participants is especially familiar: Among those taking part are Hockaday's own Lisa Loeb, Lord Vishnu's master Will Clarke and Dallas CityDesign Studio bossman Brent Brown, in addition to the likes of Meadows School of the Arts dean José Bowen, filmmaker Elise Ballard, water-saver Jeff Fulgham, artist Jaume Plensa (maker of the giant head) and dancer Bruce Wood.

Concerning this year's theme, TEDxSMU director Sharon Lyle tells Unfair Park today: "It really means nothing when we come up with it, and the speakers help shape what it means. This one in particular has been interesting, because when we say it's disruption, they think it's so negative, and the initial impression is: Why would you pick something like this? But it's this universal conversation I've had about 100 times now, and the speakers come around to a place where disruptive events can be bad, they can be good or whatever, but without them we would have stagnated a long time ago. It's a necessary catalyst for change, so that's where most of the speaker have taken it."

Lyle was also kind enough to provide this something-special for the Friends of Unfair Park who may want to peek in on the proceedings: the list of participants for each session, which you won't find anywhere else. Plan accordingly.

Saturday Line-Up:

Session I:

Jaewon Ahn
Juan Enriquez
Jeff Fulgham
Mant Hawkins
Peter Brown
Will Clarke
Brent Brown
Lisa Loeb

Session II:

Kate Canales
Jasmin Brand
Priscila Silva
Scott Douglas
Jose Bowen
Peter Thum
Bruce Wood/Nycole Ray

Session III:

Elise Ballard
Jaume Plensa
Belinda Baldwin
Homaro Cantu
Sam Youdal
Lisa Loeb
Maya Ajmera
Karen Blessen

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


Join the Observer community and help support independent local journalism in Dallas.


Join the Observer community and help support independent local journalism in Dallas.