echo ''."\n";
| Sports |

The Return of David Clyde, Ruben Sierra, Charlie Hough, Buddy Bell and Mickey Tettleton

Keep Dallas Observer Free
I Support
  • Local
  • Community
  • Journalism
  • logo

Support the independent voice of Dallas and help keep the future of Dallas Observer free.

My 8-year-old has himself a new hobby: collecting baseball cards, which now involves semi-regular trips to Nick's, where, last week, they told him the signed Curtis Wilkerson he found in an old box of Topps commons was real, all right, and worth a good ... what ... 25 cents? Ah -- but what's it worth if he signs it twice?

Turns out, Wilkerson's among the dozens of former Rangers scheduled to show up at the Ballpark in Arlington this weekend, when Kenny Rogers is inducted into the ballclub's Hall of Fame during an on-the-field ceremony scheduled to begin broiling at 6:40 Saturday, pushing back Rangers-Indians to 7:15 p.m. But the tip o' the ceremonial cap in The Gambler's general direction is only one of a handful of events scheduled during the weekend.

There's a Friday-morning luncheon on tap (featuring Rogers, sure, but also Rusty Greer, Tom Grieve, Toby Harrah, Charlie Hough, Nolan Ryan, Ruben Sierra and Jim Sundberg), followed by a Saturday meet-and-greet at the Ballpark, during which some 60 ex-Rangers will sign autographs on the main concourse, between home plate and third base. But it's a short-lived reunion: The team sends word that they'll only be out there between 5 and 5:45 p.m. Why so short? Charlie Hough can only go 45 minutes between smokes, man. Jump for the whole list of scheduled attendees. It's worth it.

Gerald Alexander
Larry Hardy
Leon Roberts

Kevin Belcher
Toby Harrah*
Eddie Robinson
Buddy Bell*
Donald Harris
Kenny Rogers*

Rich Billings
Rick Henninger
Jeff Russell

Tommy Boggs
Dave Hostetler
Nolan Ryan*

Mark Brandenburg
Charlie Hough*
Aaron Sele

Dave Chalk
David Hulse
Scott Sheldon

Reggie Cleveland
Mike Jeffcoat
Ruben Sierra*

David Clyde
Jeff Kunkel
Mike Simms

Tim Crabtree
Frank Lucchesi
Dan Smith

Keith Creel
Joe Macko
Don Stanhouse

Danny Darwin
Pat Mahomes
Bill Stein

Odie Davis
Mark McLemore
Ken Suarez

Don Durham
Craig McMurtry
Jim Sundberg*

Dick Egan
Mike Munoz
Mickey Tettleton

Ted Ford
Jim Norris
Ellis Valentine

Jeff Frye
Claude Osteen
Todd Van Poppel

Tom Grieve*
Ken Pape
DeWayne Vaughn

Rusty Greer*
Mark Petkovsek
Duane Walker

Jose Guzman
Geno Petralli
Curtis Wilkerson

Rich Hand
Dave Roberts
Matt Williams

*Member, Texas Rangers Baseball Hall of Fame
List is subject to change

Keep the Dallas Observer Free... Since we started the Dallas Observer, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Dallas, and we would like to keep it that way. Offering our readers free access to incisive coverage of local news, food and culture. Producing stories on everything from political scandals to the hottest new bands, with gutsy reporting, stylish writing, and staffers who've won everything from the Society of Professional Journalists' Sigma Delta Chi feature-writing award to the Casey Medal for Meritorious Journalism. But with local journalism's existence under siege and advertising revenue setbacks having a larger impact, it is important now more than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" membership program, allowing us to keep covering Dallas with no paywalls.

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.


Join the Observer community and help support independent local journalism in Dallas.


Join the Observer community and help support independent local journalism in Dallas.