The Legs On the Movie Star!

Mining 1960s television for camp is in no way a difficult task. Think of the possibilities: a drag version of Bewitched, with the most splendid version of Endora ever; a Green Acres reboot where you take a fashionable, urban gay couple and move 'em out to the sticks; a Brady Bunch knockoff with seemingly endless permutations of hilarious gender-bending mishaps. It’s a fertile field of slapstick possibilities. In this case, Uptown Players’ Jamie Morris will harvest Gilligan’s Island for a send-up performed in Station 4’s Rose Room (3911 Cedar Springs Road), beginning 8 p.m. Friday and running through March 15. Gilligan’s Fire Island recasts Gilligan as a twink hoping to have a gay old time on his upcoming island vacation — only to be knocked overboard on the journey. He washes up on another island, inhabited by a zany assortment of over-the-top castaways, and gets way more than the three-hour tour he bargained for. Tickets are $22 at uptownplayers.org.
Fri., Feb. 13, 8 p.m.; Sat., Feb. 14, 8 p.m.; Fri., Feb. 20, 8 p.m.; Fri., Feb. 27, 8 p.m.; Sat., Feb. 28, 8 p.m.; Sun., March 1, 8 p.m.; Fri., March 6, 8 p.m.; Sat., March 7, 8 p.m.; Sun., March 8, 8 p.m.; Sat., March 14, 8 p.m.; Sun., March 15, 8 p.m., 2015
KEEP THE DALLAS OBSERVER FREE... Since we started the Dallas Observer, it has been defined as the free, independent voice of Dallas, and we'd like to keep it that way. With local media under siege, it's more important than ever for us to rally support behind funding our local journalism. You can help by participating in our "I Support" program, allowing us to keep offering readers access to our incisive coverage of local news, food and culture with no paywalls.
Jennifer Davis-Lamm

Latest Stories