4

You Think You Had Mommy Issues?

There's no way to sugarcoat it: Medea ain’t pretty. The ancient Greek tale of domestic horror has never been for the faint of heart. It stunned playwright Euripides’ contemporaries when it was first produced in ancient Greece, and those people weren’t easy to shock. The passage of nearly 2,500 years hasn’t made this tale of a woman scorned and driven to the most awful of crimes any more palatable. But despite its ugliness, there’s much to be gleaned from this powerful tragedy. Feelings of helplessness, a B.C.-era examination of the patriarchy, and the cold clout of revenge are all themes you’ll find in the lyrical, poetic shocker being performed by Dallas Theater Center at Kalita Humphreys Theater (3636 Turtle Creek Blvd.), starting at 7:30 p.m. Thursday. Performances run through March 29; tickets are $18 to $60 at dallastheatercenter.org.
Wed., Feb. 4, 7:30 p.m.; Thu., Feb. 19, 7:30 p.m.; Sun., Feb. 22, 7:30 p.m.; Tue., Feb. 24, 7:30 p.m.; Sat., Feb. 28, 8 p.m.; Sun., March 1, 2 p.m.; Fri., March 6, 8 p.m.; Sun., March 8, 7:30 p.m.; Thu., March 12, 7:30 p.m.; Fri., March 13, 8 p.m.; Sat., March 14, 7:30 p.m.; Wed., March 18, 7:30 p.m.; Sat., March 21, 2 p.m.; Tue., March 24, 7:30 p.m.; Thu., March 26, 7:30 p.m.; Sun., March 29, 7:30 p.m., 2015

We use cookies to collect and analyze information on site performance and usage, and to enhance and customize content and advertisements. By clicking 'X' or continuing to use the site, you agree to allow cookies to be placed. To find out more, visit our cookies policy and our privacy policy.

Newsletters

All-access pass to the top stories, events and offers around town.

  • Top Stories
    Send:

Newsletters

All-access pass to top stories, events and offers around town.

Sign Up >

No Thanks!

Remind Me Later >